Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Equipment and Gear
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

ufaded
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: TaeKwonDo

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:51 pm    Post subject: Sparring gear (chest protectors in particular) Reply with quote

Good afternoon all,
I have been practicing TKD (WTF) for about 16 months now and currently hold a senior blue belt. What I have found is that the chest protector gear is very restrictive for sparring. Does anyone know of a lightweight chest protector that does not inhibit movement. I've looked everywhere, but there only seems to be about 3 different types (and they are all pretty much the same). Is anyone aware of/or using something they find to be lightweight and non-restrictive to movement?

Thank you,
Johnny (ufaded)

Shane
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Styles: Combative Arts

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only our females wear chest gear in our adult classes and thats for obvious reasons but I supply them with 3 styles to choose from, first a ringside female chest guard very non restrictive, and the other two styles are made from Macho, one is the regular old TKD style and then I have three of the macho Karate chest protectors they are made of a very light weight foam and are about half as restrictive as the TKD style. I would look into one of those they are pretty affordable also.

http://www.macho.com/products.jhtml?method=view&section.id=1&subcategory.id=6&category.id=1&product.id=32

or possibly this one

http://www.macho.com/products.jhtml?method=view&section.id=1&subcategory.id=6&category.id=1&product.id=17

Hudson
Green Belt
Green Belt

Styles: Toad

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't realize that chest protectors were required?

VinnieDaChin
Orange Belt
Orange Belt