Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Karate
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Ai Hate
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2002 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've just began training in martial arts for around 4 months. i'm studying gojuryu karate and have never done anything before. so i really want to hear from the people around here what's the heart of the gojuryu karate?
i've learnt from some of the seniors that gojuryu mainly focuses around controling your breath in corresponding with your muscle. gojuryu katas such as sanchin and tensho really focuses on this principle. it's called "ibuki" if i remember
my sensei said that, for example, in shotokan, there's no stuff like this (muscle control and breathing)?
in short, what's the key to understanding (if not mastering) the heart of gojuryu karate?
some one enlighten me

ps. since this is my first official post, i'd just like to say "hello"

Tobias_Reece
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: Matayoshi Okinawawn Kobudo, Shotokan Karate

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2002 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ai Hate

First, welcome to the boards.

However, we do pratice this in Shotokan karate. We do not have the katas sanchin and tensho, but we do have a tension stance and tension kata, Hangetsu (which I believe is derived from Sanchin).

Breathing and muscle control is very VERY important is all forms of karate.

Hope this helps, and I'm sure we can discuss more of this further with the other members on the board.

Cya

Tobias

Principal Kobudo Instructor & Owner
West Yorkshire Kobudo Academy
2nd Kyu (Matayoshi Okinawan Kobudo, IOKA UK)
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

Jiggy9
Purple Belt
Purple Belt