Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Share Your Testing, Grading, or Promotion
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

JDZNate
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Brazilian jiu jitsu.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:29 pm    Post subject: Time to make rank? Reply with quote

I've been training for about 12 years total and I just started MMA about a year ago. The school is very big with about 300 students and it offers many different styles. Mainly kick boxing and traditional karate. The school is a franchise and they go through belts about every three months. I train about 8-15 hours a week but some student only about 1-2 hours a week. I enrolled my stepdaughter in classes who has very low selfesteem and is very shy, thinking that it would help her with dealing with obsticals in the real world.

When I was in TKD, it took years to earn a belt not three months. The instructors say that it keeps the students focused on a goal.

Last edited by JDZNate on Sat Jan 07, 2006 6:32 pm; edited 1 time in total

dragon's_wrath99
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shorin-Ryu Karate

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmmm... I disagree. I'm not an expert or anything, but it seems to me that the higher up in rank you get, the longer the intervals between belt testings. In my dojo also they hold testing every three months, so for us three months of training is the absolute minimum to go from white belt (our lowest rank) to yellow belt (the next rank up, I'm not positive on the kyus). To test for full black belt it takes an immensly long amount of time... years of training... you could never get black belt three months after obtaining your brown belt! Yikes, what a scary thought!

But then again, I suppose it varies from dojo to dojo.

JDZNate
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Brazilian jiu jitsu.