Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Karate
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

tommy2u
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2002 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello everyone, I am a student of the Wado Ryu karate style. After training for a couple of year with this style I have found that its katas have limits in scoring at tournaments. Therefore I would like to broaden my knowledge of katas by also joining another club.
Thus can someone please recommend to me a style of karate that has great tournament katas. I have heard that shotokan, Shorin ryu and ****o ryu all have great katas.

Phantasmatic
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Styles: Goju-Ryu, Shorei-Ryu, Shuri-Ryu, Kobudo, Judo, Shin-Kage Ryu

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2002 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I would strongly recommend to join another Okinawan style. Shotokan would be a good style to join because of its popularity. Then there are more secluded styles like Shuri ryu. Goju is also a good Okinawan system. Goju, Shuri, and Shotokan ryu are all very similar.

Tobias_Reece
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: Matayoshi Okinawawn Kobudo, Shotokan Karate

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2002 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shotokan is a japanese style of karate, not Okinawan.

From my experience, there are 2 main katas that are known for winning competitions - Unsu and Gojushiho-sho

Unsu involves very quick movements, and a very difficult jump, which impresses the judges.

Gojushiho-sho is a long kata, and involves stronger, dynamic moves. It contains a mixture of fast and slow moves.

but also from my experience, competitions are odd things - it depends on the judges whether they are in the mood for long or short!!!

Hope this helps

Tobias

Principal Kobudo Instructor & Owner