Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Karate
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Sparkey
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Shorin-ryu

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2003 10:52 pm    Post subject: What am I getting myself into??!! Reply with quote

Hi all,
I'm a pretty fresh beginner. I've been training in Shorin-ryu since the end of October. So far, I think I'm doing OK. My sensei says for a beginner, and an adult who hasn't been too terribly athletic up to this point, I'm doing pretty good. But I'm aftraid I bit off a little more than I can chew with what's coming up this weekend. We're having a guest teacher come and do a Kobudo seminar at our Dojo- 6 hours each day on Saturday and Sunday. I've learned one Bo Kata already and I'm working on another one, and that's my extent of knowing about weapons. Both Senseis at my Dojo are telling me that I'll be fine, that the guest teacher will take things slow and teach step by step. I heard there will be other beginners there and that made me feel more confidant, so I signed up for one day.

The problem came when today, I was talking to one of the upper level students. She told me that sometimes the guest teacher will really rush through the steps and then expect that everyone will just be able to follow along (which they tell us is the "traditional way of teaching in Okinawa). I know I can't do that at the level I'm at right now and the thought of 6 hours of absolute frustration is really shaking me up. I'm wondering if I should make up some dumb excuse and try to get out of it and have the money credited to my dojo account OR if I should just suck it up and do my best to have a possitive experience.

What do you all think?

Pacificshore
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Chinese Kenpo/Kara-Ho Kempo