Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Health and Fitness
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

chh
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We moved to a new dojo a month or so ago, and had a nice raised wood training floor installed. Since the move I've noticed some slight stiffness developing in my hands, and suspect it's from doing knuckle pushups on the bare wood (our old dojo had carpet over concrete). I know from reading comments in other posts that several people here are not fans of knuckle pushups, I was hoping to get some more in depth opinions on this. We also do makiwara training for conditioning. I love my dojo and do want to harden & strengthen my body including hands & wrists, but then again I'm a programmer and do not want arthritis interfering with my early retirement plans. Any thoughts would be appreciated!

KickChick
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knuckle push-ups serve to strengthen the wrists for punching, building calluses, and teaching the body to overcome pain.
You may want to check these out http://www.dmartstores.com/irknucir2lbp.html
which might provide a little more padding for you.
"Back in the day" ... knuckle push ups were performed on gravel and concrete .... that wood floor doesn't sound so bad now does it?

ckdstudent
Green Belt
Green Belt

Styles: Choi Kwang Do

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote