Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

evilgollum
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Shotokan

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 7:54 pm    Post subject: Gonna be teaching a self-defense seminar Reply with quote

I'm going to be teaching a self-defense class to elementary, junior high, and high school kids. I've done shotokan karate for several years, but I have learned bits and pieces of kung fu, jujitsu/judo and taichi. I imagine that I will rely mostly on a combination of jujitsu and karate techniques, heavily favoring the jujitsu.

I was just wondering is people had some general advice for me. This is my first time teach a self-defense seminar (I'm a first year college student) and, although I have taught kids before in karate classes, I don't think I have ever taught such a diverse crowd age-wise. Any tips?

Sensei Rick
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a fellow student of shotokan you know that one day has little meaning. I can only say that you need a philosophy for your class. Our company uses "break free and RUN!!!" talk about simple release techniques and getting the heck outta there. better to live and fight another day. Also concentrate on simple striking points, eyes, ears, nose throat and of course, between the legs. Come up with your own clever phrase that they can remember like, if it doesn't fit, you must acquit. How ever you feel about that phrase it worked and 15 years later I bet you can remember what it's from. GOOD LUCK!

bushido_man96
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Taekwondo, Combat Hapkido, Aikido, GRACIE, Police Krav Maga, SPEAR

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good luck with your class!