Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> TKD, TSD, Hapkido, and Korean Martial Arts
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

koreantiger81
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2002 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After many years of studying tae kwon do, I found out that my school is not officially I.T.F certified. (Although my master claimed that it was certified.)

I studied under the Jhoon Ree system of Tae Kwon do, which is supposed to be affliated with the I.T.F system of tae kwon do. The patterns are the same, the kicks are the same, but the development of power using the so called "sine technique" differentiates Jhoon ree's system of tae kwon do from the I.T.F tae kwon do system.

After talking to an I.T.F master, he claimed that Jhoon Ree's system of tae kwon do is not officially I.T.F certified. My intentions are to to learn more, so I don't mind if I have to lose my black belt. It's just a little dissappointing after studying "Jhoon Rhee's" system of tae kwon do for 10 years, that my belt is not recognized in other I.T.F schools. What are your thoughts on my situation? Is there some truth to this? Also, how do I find out if a school is really certified?

Bretty101
Green Belt
Green Belt

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2002 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll always be a black belt in Taekwondo no one will ever take that away from you.

I've been with 3 different TKD organisations and they all claim to not recognise each others grades yet they all use to be unified.