Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> MMA, Muay Thai, Kickboxing, Boxing, and Competitive Fighting
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

chrisw08
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Shorin Ryu Matsumura Seito/ Kenshin Kan/ of Grandmaster Fusei Kise/

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:07 pm    Post subject: Kickboxing without the kickboxing Reply with quote

Hi my name is chris and i have been practicing martial arts for around 4 years or so now off and on. I have been to a dojo for Kempo shorin ryu and gung fu and have studied after leaving the dojo the fighting styles Kyokushin, xing yi and I bought dvds and starting training in shotokan. I have enjoyed learning a bit from all the arts and learning the diffrences and simularities of each. i love the simpicity of shotokan but couldnt find a direct style to practice.

I am taking up kickboxing and training on my own learning the technuiqes and practicing on my bag. I think this is great to learn cause it is universal to almost all the styles in some way. Well I was just making this post to let yall know what im doing and your opinion and I wont be in any kickboxing matches but I dont think that matters much im still going to compete in martial art tournements

Dobbersky
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Black Tiger Ashihara Karate Jutsu, Japanese Kickboxing, Cheng Man Ch'ing TaiChi

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris

I would keep with at least one of the styles you mention. If your taking up kick boxing is it at a Gym or via a few videos etc/

The thing is once you're on your own you develop your own "nasty" habits and nobody will be there to correct them!