Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Equipment and Gear
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

John_newman
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sensei8 wrote:
John_newman wrote:
Very Informative Post.
I am very new to karate and i was looking to join some informative forums and I guess I made a right choice.

Anyone here from Brea California?

Welcome to KF, John_newman; glad that you're here!!

Thank you very much. I really appreciate that.
Can you please help me out in choosing the right Gi for karate?

What is the difference between Karate gi and other gis
I bought a gi online and my couch said it is a BJJ gi and i seriously have no idea about what is a karate gi and what is the difference between my gi and the karate gi. I checked the web and it is bjj gi but why is this a BJJ gi?

I tried to search about it online but couldn't get sufficient information about that so i think i should ask the question here.
I saw all were wearing almost the same gi in the gym.

Please help me out and thanks in advance for your help. Here is the gi link which i have.

https://www.elitesports.com/collections/brazilian-jiu-jitsu-mens-bjj-gis/products/elite-sports-essential-ultra-light-preshrunk-navy-adult-brazilian-jiu-jitsu-bjj-gi-with-free-white-belt

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A BJJ gi and/or a Judo gi and/or any same like gi is different than any other gi because for the most, they're made specifically for grappling, and developed to withstand the pulling and grabbing that Bjj consists of.