Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Health and Fitness
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

KarateKen
Green Belt
Green Belt

Styles: Karate

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2023 4:43 pm    Post subject: Micro workouts Reply with quote

I'm just learning about these mico-workouts. Anyone have experience with these? How effective are they? You do a high intensity workout for a short amount of time, usually 20 minutes or less, sometimes just five minutes, and it supposed to help with weight loss.

Any thoughts?

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2023 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Micro-workouts are great, at least they've been great for me for many decades. A quick Kata over and over or a quick jog or a quick swim or a quick weight series or banging on a hanging bag...a quick session with battle ropes or a quick bike ride...SOMETHING...ANYTHING...is better than nothing. I believe that everyone has at least 5-20 minutes to spare in their busy day.

The 5 to 20 minute micro-workouts are ideal lengths of time considering my usual workout use to be hours long, 3-4 hours long, not so much now. My micro workouts are now my usual workouts due to physical limitations brought on by a medical concerns nowadays.

How effective are they? If done seriously, and not in a haphazardously manner, they can be very effective across the board, especially for owns core. There's that idiom that says...Nothing ventured, nothing gained. That speaks in volumes to me.

Remember. one of the key things to weight loss is getting the heart rate up, and a micro-workout can be very effective as well as beneficial in ones weight loss program. Just make sure that a healthy diet is an active one.

Good luck with your micro-workouts journey.

KarateKen
Green Belt
Green Belt