Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

ashworth
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: Shotokan, IJR Karate, Iaido, Kobudo

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2022 8:48 am    Post subject: Student of the Month... Reply with quote

As an instructor I have never bothered with student of the month rewards. For a couple of different reasons:

At the moment I am actually only running adult classes and I don't think anything like that is really needed for adult classes...

But when I was running children's classes as well, my classes have always been quite small and I would find it difficult to justify why one student would get the award over another, especially as I am quite big on not comparing students to each other and always tell them to never compare their karate to someone else's in class, only person you should compare to is your yesterday's self.

So to my questions... if you do these type of awards:

how do you decide who is your student of the month, if no one really stands out in your mind do you just pick one at random? Do you even award it based on what they have done that month or do you just alternate it between all the students?

Also, do you feel that this type of thing has led them to compare themselves to others in the class?

Train together, Learn together, Succeed together...

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2022 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a double-edged sword, for sure. If the CI isn't too keen with Student-of-the-Month, then I believe that the CI should just shelf the idea. Otherwise, the transparency of the whole idea will become quite so obvious and lose its credibility fast.