Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Eighties
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Isshun-Ryu, Gojo-Ryu

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:26 pm    Post subject: Want to train again but...... Reply with quote

Hey all!

My name is Chris. I studied karate twice in the past but unfortunately life circumstances kept me from staying with my training. Now my son is taking an MMA style and a recent career change will allow me to possibly take it with him. In short if I'm going to train again, my only chance is to take the classes with my son as that is the only time I have available to dedicate. I very much like this Sensei but do have some serious concerns with the dojo's curriculum and a couple of other things. Let’s just say it is VERY different than when I was a kid. Aspects of martial arts that I found to be very important are glossed over and aspects that I find to be irrelevant are strictly held to with little or no justification.
When I studied in my youth, karate was not about learning to fight. Personally, it was the last thing on my priority list. It was a physical activity that I enjoyed so was therefore not a chore. It gave me BOTH physical and mental balance, flexibility and focus. I enjoyed and preferred kata over kumite. I could spar and did well in tournaments, but only really attended them when required. I much preferred training sessions with visiting masters than competing in tournaments. Classes were usually two hours long, consisted of opening ceremonies, 30 or so minutes of calisthenics and stretching followed by another 30 minutes of upper and lower body basics and then moved on to focused training in kata, kumite, breaking, etc. then closing ceremonies.