Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Health and Fitness
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

grenage
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 5:06 am    Post subject: Support knee pain when kicking (yes, I twist). Reply with quote

Hi guys,

Recently I've been having a lot of problems with kicking on one side only - kicking with my dominant leg (right) as the support foot. It is especially problematic with a roundhouse, and less so with a side thrust kick.

I've been doing karate for nearly three years, and this has only started appearing in the last six months. I think it might be a tight muscle/tendon down the inside of my leg; has anyone else experienced this sort of problem, and are there any stretches you could recommend?

singularity6
Pre-Black Belt
Pre-Black Belt

Styles: Jidokwan Taekwondo and Hapkido, Yoshokai Aikido, ZNIR Iaido, Kendo

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depending on which muscle you're talking about, I could be dealing with that. The location is higher up on the leg for me (aductor, iliacus, iliopsoas areas.)

There are a number of things I had to do to correct it, and even though I haven't had an episode in months, it threatens me if I don't do things correctly!

1. See your doctor and get referred to a sports therapist.
2. Stretch! You can look up a series of stretches for the areas affected. Perform them several times per day. Make sure you warm up the muscles before you stretch.
3. You can strengthen all the muscles in your hip region by doing leg lifts (including the glutes!) One cause for the problems I had could have been from lack of strength from all the other muscles... the iliacus (or whichever was affected) isn't all that large.
4. Warm up before you kick.