Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Martial Arts Weapons
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

MAfreak
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:12 pm    Post subject: whats your favourite weapon and why? Reply with quote

i'm no weapons expert but had some kobudo lessons and did long self study on traditional weapons, since its an amazing addition to the "common" weaponless combat sports.

my total favourite is the tonfa because its one of the few weapons which adjusts to our body and not the other way round, when it comes to arm positioning, blocking or striking. i have a very short video with some training clips, and did an example there. a shadow boxing combination and later a tonfa combination, which is exactly the same. when you can box with it, its the perfect weapon (surely except of stabbingweapons and firearms).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qaNl26Og4p0 i tried sai throwing too, i think thats interesting for such a big heavy weapon (compared to throwing-knifes or shuriken).

my second favourite would be the cane like its used in hapkido. could be handled like a tonfa or a hanbo, can sweep or grab someone, can even be sharpened and no one would ask you, why you carry this stick with you.

Spodo Komodo
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

Styles: Wado Ryu, Shotokan

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sai, they complement kata wonderfully, develop strong wrists and arms, feel so natural to use and are useful for after training snacks of really big corn.

Lupin1
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Isshinryu

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote